Aerospace Engineering


Research Areas


Sponsored Projects

Consultancy Projects

Technologies Developed

Recent Publications

Faculty Directory



Training and Placement

More Information...
The department was set up in 1965 leading to B.Tech (Hons.) degree after a high power committee appointed by GOI stressed the need for manpower training in the field of Aeronautical Engineering. Over the years, the department has built up laboratories in the areas of aerodynamics, structures and propulsion. A Centre of Excellence for Composite Structures Technology, funded by ARDB, has been established in 1999. Some major thrust areas of the future are Aerospace Control Systems, Aero-Servo-Elasticity, Aerothermo-Mechanics, Industrial Aerodynamics, Air Breathing Propulsion, Composites, Computational Fluid Dynamics, Non-destructive testing and Wind Energy. Currently, the research efforts of the faculty are supported by a large number of projects sponsored by ARDB, ADA, ISRO, DST, AICTE, MHRD and many other organisations.

Head of the Department : Prof. B N Singh
Phone (Head's chamber) : +91-3222-282242
Office : +91-3222-282241
Phone (Chamber) : +91-3222-283026
Phone (Residence) : +91-3222-283027, +91-3222-
Email :


Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, Kharagpur - 721302, INDIA
Telephone Number +91-3222-255221 | FAX : +91-3222-255303