Distinguished Alumnus of IIT Kharagpur
Dr. Supriyo Datta
Dr. Supriyo Datta is the Thomas Duncan Distinguished Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering, Purdue University, USA. He is also the Director of NASA Institute for Nanoelectronics and Computing (INAC). He received his B.Tech degree with President of India Gold Medal in Electronics and Electrical Engineering from Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur in 1975, and the M.S. and Ph.D degrees from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 1977 and 1979 respectively.

Dr. Datta has been holding many prestigious positions in his illustrious career. He has over 125 refereed journal publications and 100 invited talks. He has written four books. His current research interests are centered around the physics of nanostructures. It includes spin electronics, nanoscale device physics, molecular electronics and mesoscopic superconductivity. A major part of Dr. Datta’s work in the 1990’s was to develop an esoteric quantum transport formalism (called the non-equilibrium Green’s function or NEGF formalism) into a powerful practical tool that can be used to model nanoelectronic devices. The applied aspects of this work have been done in collaboration with his colleague Professor Mark Lundstrom with whom he shared the IEEE Cledo Brunetti Award in 2002 and the Semiconductor Research Corporations (SRC) Technical Excellence Award in 2001. Since 2000, his major contribution has been the development of a unified viewpoint that can be used to model quantum transport in all varieties of nanoscale devices whether it is based on semiconductors, carbon nanotubes or organic molecules. Dr. Datta has received numerous awards and honors during his career. Recently he won the Herbert Newby McCoy award, 2006, the annual award given by Purdue University to the faculty member making the most important contribution to science. He received the Frederick Emmons Terman Award from the American Society of Engineering Education in 1994, the Presidential Young Investigator Award from the National Science Foundation, 1984 and the D.D.Ewing teaching award from the School of Electrical Engineering, Purdue University in 1983.

He is a Fellow of the Institute of Physics, UK, Fellow, IEEE and Fellow, American Physical Society. He is the Editor of Quantum Electronics and Devices since 2002 and is the Distinguished Lecturer, Electron Devices Society since 2004.

Back to Distinguished Alumni List