Halls of Residence

IIT KGP is well known for its extensive residential facilities. Spread over a sprawling 2100 acres, IIT Kharagpur houses almost 10,000 students.

There are 21 Halls of Residences (16 for boys, 5 for girls) around campus. They include

  • Sir Ashutosh Mukherjee Hall
  • Azad Hall
  • B C Roy Hall
  • B R Ambedkar Hall
  • Gokhale Hall
  • Homi Bhabha Hall
  • J C Bose Hall
  • Lala Lajpat Rai Hall
  • Lalbahadur Sastry Hall
  • Madan Mohan Malviya Hall
  • Megnad Saha Hall
  • Mother Teresa Hall
  • Nehru Hall
  • Patel Hall
  • Radha Krishnan Hall
  • Rajendra Prasad Hall
  • Rani Laxmibai Hall
  • Sister Nivedita Hall
  • Sarojini Naidu / Indira Gandhi Hall
  • Vidyasagar Hall
  • Zakir Hussain Hall

Patel Hall of residence built in 1952 is the first IIT Hostel all over India. The LBS and MMM halls completed in 2010 are modern state of the art hostels. The Girl Hostels are strategically located near the Academic centre, playground, auditoriums and Police station. Zakir Hussain Hall provides accommodation for the families of married Scholars. The Halls provide their residents with facilities such as High Speed LAN, Wi-Fi and 24 hour electricity.

Inter Hall Competitions are conducted round the year and they help build the technical, athletic and artistic skills of the residents. These competitions form a part of rich legacy of Hall culture.